DEBBIE (1/21/2017)

Debbie is a good friend of mine, wife to the late Earnie , and has been on the streets since she was a teenager. Growing up in the custody of the state, just like I did. I sat beside her as she flew her sign and we shared good memories of Earnie together. “Carrie, he was my best friend in the world,” she said, words stammering from her tear streamed face. We talked for hours, only interrupted by a nice Christian lady who brought each of us a sandwich and promised Debbie a ride to church the next day. When the time came for me to go, Debbie smiled up at me and said,”Thanks for being here with me today, it was great just be able to vent.” I smiled and left, knowing that it didn’t just help her, but was very beneficial to me as well.

Leave a Reply

