Review: Straight Outta Compton

I have loved rap music for a long time and since Dr Dre, Eazy E, and Ice Cube are some of my favorites, I decided to watch this movie. I immediately felt badly as I saw the way the racist police officers slammed young black men around and got away with it. I was saddened by Dre’s loss of his little brother to street violence. And how even when they were becoming famous, they still got treated trash by authority. I remember when they were being messed with by the government for the song “Fuck the Police”, which caused a big thing about freedom of speech. They were pioneers in the business and the movie was an amazing portrayal of life for these talented men. Hats off to the makers of the film and it is now one of my favorite movies. 

Leave a Reply

